Friday, July 23, 2010

2010 Rip Curl Cup in Padang-Padang, Bali, Indonesia

Rip Curl Cup Invitational
ISC Tour
Padang Padang Indonesia
25/7 - 29/8 2010

Jamie O'Brien, Ry Craike and Rizal Tanjung among 32 invitees.  Opening Ceremony on Sunday, July 25th
Surfersvillage Global Surf News, 22 July, 2010 : - - Padang Padang, Bali – Rip Curl has announced the 32 surfers invited to compete in the 2010 Rip Curl Cup Invitational at Padang Padang. The elite group of daredevil tuberiders is now set to gather at Bali’s most revered wave this weekend for the event's opening ceremony. 

Rip Curl team riders Koa Smith (Hawaii) and Tom Lowe (England) are both slated to compete, along with such international stars as Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii), Ry Craike (Australia) and Ozzie Wright (Australia). Among the 16 Indonesian surfers invited are Garut Widiarta, Betet Merta and legendary Balinese surfer Rizal Tanjung.

“I surfed Padang for the first time when I was 13 years old,” said Tanjung, 35, who has competed in every Padang Cup. “From that day on I was in love with the place. I would love to win the Padang Cup one day.” 

The opening ceremony will be held at Padang Padang beach on Sunday, July 25th and marks the first day of the five-week event waiting period. The heat drawing presentation will begin promptly at 3 p.m., followed by a press conference with the surfers and contest organizers. The evening will conclude with a traditional Balinese Kecak dance performance. Rip Curl will host a beach barbeque for everyone in attendance. 

All 32 surfers invited to compete in this year’s event will be on hand Sunday for the official heat drawing. Each surfer will choose a number out of the Rip Curl Cup to determine who he will surf against in the opening round. Once the draw has been set, it’s simply a matter of waiting for a massive Indian Ocean swell to stir the mythical wave at Padang to life. Following is the official list of invited surfers.

Indonesian surfers: Garut Widiarta, Tipi Jabrik, Pepen Hendrik, Rizal Tanjung, Putra Hermawan, Mustofa Jekson, Made Lana, Made Lapur, Wayan “Betet” Merta, Raditya Rondi, Lee Wilson, Mega Semadhi, Rahtu Suargita, Dede Suryana, Wayan "Gobleg" Suyadnya and Marlon Gerber. 

International surfers: Kalani Chapman (Hawaii), Ry Craike (Australia), Ryan Hipwood (Australia), Mikala Jones (Hawaii), Tom Lowe (England), Flynn Novak (Hawaii), Jamie O’Brien (Hawaii), Makua Rothman (Hawaii), Koa Smith (Hawaii), Ryan Turner (California), Takayuki Wakita (Japan), Anthony Walsh (Australia), Ian Walsh (Hawaii) and Ozzie Wright (Australia).
Watch The Official Event Trailer! Rip Curl Cup Website Goes Live... 

Fans can now access the official event website at Check the site to see the official event trailer and find out when “It's On.” On the day of the contest, fans will be treated to “Heats On-Demand” which can be viewed on the website minutes after they go down. Also check the website for in-depth interviews with all the invited surfers and daily video features on all the hottest surfing, parties and happenings in Bali during the waiting period. See it all at

About the Rip Curl Cup
Now in its seventh year, the Rip Curl Cup Invitational at Padang Padang is Indonesia’s longest-running surfing competition and the only ISC tour event featuring top international surfers alongside Indonesia’s best. This year Rip Curl will continue to infuse the contest with international flavor and big names. The field of 32 surfers will be split equally between 16 of Indonesia’s all-time Padang surfers and 16 of the world’s best tube slayers. This invitational format, along with the allure of the wave at Padang and a 65 million rupiah prize purse, makes the Rip Curl Cup the most anticipated event of the Indo surf season.

Rip Curl has set aside a five-week waiting period to hold the “one-day, one-swell” event. The window will run from July 25th through Aug. 29th and the contest will be run entirely on the chosen day. When contest directors see an ideal “Padang swell” in the forecast, they will give the green light and the 32 competitors will have 24 hours to make it to Bali’s Bukit Peninsula. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Text Widget


Text Widget